R.I.P. Maurice Sendak

Maurice Sendak, 1928 - 2012
Maurice Sendak, 1928 - 2012
The New York Times reported this morning that renowned children’s author and out gay man has died at the age of 83 from complications of a recent stroke. Sendak came out publically just four years ago, though he had been in a 50-year relationship until his partner’s death in 2007.

Sendak is, of course, best known for his legendary book Where The Wild Things Are. His final work, Bumble-Ardy, was published less than a year ago in September 2011.

In an interview with NPR’s Fresh Air last September, Sendak had this to say:

I have nothing now but praise for my life. I’m not unhappy. I cry a lot because I miss people. They die and I can’t stop them. They leave me and I love them more. … There are so many beautiful things in the world which I will have to leave when I die, but I’m ready, I’m ready, I’m ready.

