How About Some Good News? Gay Attempted Suicide Victim Recovering In Ohio

Austin Rodriguez - image via WYTV
Austin Rodriguez - image via WYTV

On March 30, I told you about Austin Rodriguez, a gay teen in Wellsville, Ohio who had attempted suicide two weeks before. At the time, he was in a drug-induced coma and doctors were preparing to perform a tracheotomy to help get him off a ventilator. I’ll be honest, things didn’t look good for this splendid young man.

I’m happy to report today that Austin has made remarkable strides since then. He has been awake for a week now, and last Thursday spoke for the first time since the incident. He’s been moved from ICU to a private room on a “stepdown” floor, which is a very good sign.

Monday night, to the delight of family, friends, and supporters, Austin returned to Facebook with this post through his mother’s account.

Happy dances all around!
Happy dances all around!

hey everybody, this is austin 🙂 getting stronger every day, but i wont be home in awhile. Ik abt all the support & thank you all from the bottom of my heart ♥

I got in touch with Austin’s mother this morning, and she had this message for the community: “Austin had no idea so many people were pulling for him. I would like to personally thank everyone for their support.”

Austin has a lot of work and a long recovery ahead of him, but I look forward to the day when he can return to school. Keep it up, Austin! We’re so glad you’re here!

4 thoughts on “How About Some Good News? Gay Attempted Suicide Victim Recovering In Ohio

  1. Austin, I know that you will read this eventually. Cross suicide off your list as option.

    I’m not going top BS you and tell you, “It Get’s Better.” What I will tell you is what my mother used to tell me and that is that you are a short time living and a long time dead.

    You have a lot of wonderful things to look forward to; many that you haven’t even begun to imagine. Get better, and do what you want with your life. It’s yours and you’ve earned it so make the best of it. Don’t let some losers take it from you without a fight. At 47 years of age I can say that I’ve been where you are and I’m still here. If I can make it, I guarantee that in this day and age, you can make it too.

  2. Austin, I’m also not going to tell you ‘It Gets Better’. I’m a straight 42-year-old from Australia, what do I know about being a gay teenager in Ohio (except that it’s probably not very pleasant)?

    But as somebody who has contemplated suicide in the past, I will tell you this – if you do it, you’re guaranteeing that things will never get better. If you stay alive, and stay strong, there’s a pretty good chance they will.

    Take care of yourself,

    Rob C

  3. Hey Austin, Hey buddy I was an out gay teen and battled depression and still do from time to time. What I can tell you from my experience is that there are some awful, low, numb, heartaching times. However there are some also some  great mind blowing times that overshadow the bad times in the end!  Hang in there man!  We are all rooting for you!

Comments are closed.