Shooting A Trans Woman While Shouting ‘Tranny Faggot’ Isn’t A Hate Crime In Halifax, Nova Scotia

At this point, [Halifax Spokesman Constable Brian Palmeter] said there is no reason to believe – based solely on the statements made by the shooters at the door – that this was a hate crime under the Criminal Code of Canada.

“There’s no doubt if a derogatory statement is made, it’s unpleasant, it’s distasteful. But … you have to look at the motivation behind the incident,” he said.

Constable Palmeter is talking about the shooting of trans woman and drag performer Elle Noir.

It was about 1:15 a.m. Tuesday and Noir was watching America’s Next Top Model on her computer while her roommate was in his room with his friend. Feeling tired, Noir went to the door to lock it before going to bed.

That’s when she heard someone on the other side of the door yell that they were police officers. “I went to open the door and they start pushing on the door. And I was like, ‘That’s not right. Why are they pushing on the door?’

“I looked and I saw a red bandana, a black scarf, a black hood and some white guy and I was like ‘Oh. Oh no.'”

Then she heard the men yell: “Let us in, tranny faggot, let us in.” She turned to see a hand with a gun push through the open part of the door. “And they started firing, firing, firing with a pistol.”

photo by Christian LaForce of the Chronicle Herald
Hate Crime Victim Elle Noir

She and her roommate managed to lock the door and tried to get clear of the entry. Noir heard a loud bang as she crawled across the floor and felt “a rush of heat go by my arm.”

“I guess that’s when they shot through the doorway with a shotgun, and that’s when they shot me.”

Injured, she kept crawling and yelled for her roommate to call 911.

Noir had more to say in this interview with the CBC Radio One.

[wpaudio url=”http://blog.mattalgren.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/cbc-interview-elle-noir.mp3″ text=”Elle Noir Interview with CBC Radio One, June 15, 2011″]

I hate it that I have to keep saying this about different cities, but Halifax LGBTs (especially Ts), you’d best defend yourselves. As far as the police are concerned, shooting you while shouting anti-trans or anti-gay slurs doesn’t qualify as a hate crime in Halifax.

Note: Everything I’ve read suggests that the victim in this case prefers the name Elle Noir. If you know her and she prefers the given name listed in the article, or any other name for that matter, PLEASE email me so I can make the correction.

