A Message To Jewish LGBTs (and anyone else who cares to listen in)

Okay, so I just published a post about an anti-gay Jewish group. When I talk about anti-gay Christian groups, I feel fairly confident that people will understand that not all Christians are anti-gay. A) I’m a gay Christian who isn’t anti-gay, and B) when you’re talking about a majority group, people understand that one part doesn’t necessarily speak for the whole.

But as soon as I hit the Publish button on that post, I had this familiar itch on the back of my neck that tells me when something’s unfinished.

From the perspective of a minority group member, I know that a lot of (probably most) straight people lump all gay people together. When one of us speaks, s/he is viewed to be speaking for us all. We are rare enough that it’s easy to view us as a monolith. People don’t always do this on purpose, it’s just part of being in the majority.

With that in mind, I want to make sure that everyone understands that not all members of the Jewish community believe as Agudath Israel believes. For example, there’s the gay-positive Jewish friend I mentioned in the post.

There’s also this tremendous submission from the It Gets Better project.

I don’t want anyone who comes to my blog to think that there isn’t room for them in their faith tradition. Sometimes it’s a tight fit, sometimes it takes years of introspection to be at peace, and sometimes some distance is necessary and even healthy.

To any LGBT Jewish kids or adults who got here on a google search, I want you to know that you are not alone. I want you to know that the lies they tell about you aren’t true.

Even if you aren’t ready to believe it yourself, you are good and you are whole and you are just as G-d made you to be.

Visit JQYouth and The Gay and Lesbian Yeshiva Day School Alumni Association for more information.

