John Boehner, Adam & Steve, and Me

House Speaker John Boehner was in Dayton, Ohio (where I live) on Tuesday to speak at the Dayton area Chamber of Commerce’s annual meeting.

Outside the banquet center, I joined the good folks at GetEqual Ohio in protesting Speaker Boehner’s decision to defend the so-called Defense of Marriage Act, which Attorney General Eric Holder agrees is unconstitutional.

The newspaper went and posted a picture of me with GetEqual Ohio leader Tom Morgan and Service Employees International Union’s Grant Williams dressed as the Grim Reaper.

Dayton (OH) Daily News Staff photo by Lisa Powell
Look! There’s me!

As the well-heeled attendees walked past us from the parking lot to the banquet center, not many made eye contact. In fact, most did their level best to pretend we weren’t there. And that’s fine. I completely understand that reaction.

But then there was this one guy who yelled, and I quote, “GOD MADE ADAM AND EVE, NOT ADAM AND STEVE!”

I just stood there dumbfounded that this was the best he could do. I mean, of course there’s the offensive slur. But I just hate that his chosen slur was so bereft of any creativity. If I were going to yell at protesters on a sidewalk, I’d at least try to come up with something new.

This isn’t the first time I’ve been thunderstruck by Adam and Steve. Watch the anti-gay forums, blog comments, and facebook pages and I guarantee that you’ll see Adam and Steve at least a couple times a week. Before NOM’s facebook page was reformed, Adam and Steve was a daily sight.

Just come up with something new, that’s all I’m saying. Come up with something new and then shout it at me. If you can’t do that, then modify something old before you put it out there. At least then you’d be demonstrating some pride in your work.

As it is, I’m just disappointed in you.

