Rev. Duane Clinker’s Must-See Marriage Equality Testimony

I have to tell you, spending a day or two reading and listening to people like Linda Harvey and Greg Quinlan ain’t easy. (I haven’t even gotten to the really horrible ones. I so dread the Matt Barber post. You don’t even know.) So I’m taking a quick break from my Truth* Academy series to build my courage up again.

In the meantime, here’s a video from a religious leader who actually understands what God’s talking about and the role (or the lack thereof) of religion in government. Rev. Duane Clinker spoke in February during Rhode Island’s hearings on a potential marriage law that is still awaiting action.

Thank you for your testimony, Rev. Clinker. From the bottom of my soul, thank you so much.

Sometimes I lose track of how actually hurtful, how literally full-of-hurt, the words of the anti-gay industry really are, but about a two and a half minutes into the video, it came rushing in and I started to cry.

Not because you refuted what “they” say, but because your words matched Christianity’s PR, and I suddenly remembered what Christianity feels like without the hurt and the hate. Thank you for reminding me.

Rev. Clinker preaches and leads the congregation at the Open Table of Christ Church in Providence, Rhode Island. If you’re in the area, drop in and see what real Christianity feels like. duane-clinker

