Stuart Smalley Is My Copilot

Sometimes I don’t think I could make it without Stuart Smalley. NBC has done a fantastic job of getting all the good SNL/Stuart Smalley video clips off the internet, but you know who I’m talking about, right?

I'm shoulding all over myself.
I'm shoulding all over myself.

Of course, Stuart was created and played by Al Franken, the comedian turned author turned talk show host turned Senator.

I don’t know how to transition from that sentence to the next paragraph, and that’s okay. My transitions don’t have to be perfect. Whatever I write will be good enough!

Although, having a good transition shows that I care about what I’m writing, and if I leave it just good enough people will think I don’t care. Well I don’t care! … I mean, I don’t care what they think, because I do care about what I’m writing even though it might look like I don’t care.

In 1992, Franken recorded what I consider to be his best comedic work ever (not to be grandiose), a book on tape called “You’re Good Enough, You’re Smart Enough, And Doggone It People Like You: A Healing Journey Through The Dysfunctional Forest And Other Guided Visualizations.” (It’s a long title, but that’s…okay. It’s appropriate.)

This is what I like to call stamina comedy. There’s a point about 35 minutes into the hour-long recording where you just don’t think you can take any more, but if you push through the pain, the reward is amazing.

Here’s a fifteen minute sample courtesy of audible.com that I totally didn’t rip from their website. (This clip begins at about the ten minute mark.)

[wpaudio url=”http://blog.mattalgren.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/stuart-smalley-sample.mp3″ text=”It will be perfect in its imperfection. Okay.”]

Seriously, buy the audiobook. You won’t regret it, and it’s cheap as free anyway, so what do you have to lose? Also check out the companion book “I’m Good Enough, I’m Smart Enough, and Doggone It, People Like Me,” which was released at the same time.

P.S. We do not speak of the movie. EVER.

