President Obama Did *NOT* Promise DADT Repeal This Year

Okay gays, gather round. We need to get something straight.

I’d hoped this meme would go away, but bloggers keep claiming that in his State of the Union Address President Obama promised a repeal of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell (DADT) this year.

The simple truth is that President Obama didn’t say that. Here’s what he said (Don’t worry, it’s cued for that sentence):

This year, I will work with Congress and our military to finally repeal the law that denies gay Americans the right to serve the country they love because of who they are.

Now forgive my mangling of terminology, but I remember from school that a sentence must make sense without the prepositional phrases. Removing President Obama’s long ass prepositional phrase, we have this:

This year, I will work with Congress and our military to finally repeal the law that denies gay Americans the right to serve the country they love because of who they are.

He did not say they would repeal the law this year. He said they would work on it this year. Of course, I hope DADT repeal happens this year, and I’m cautiously optimistic of our chances.

I also think Obama is wise to let highly decorated women and men in uniform make the case on camera to Congress rather than open the way for Republican outcries of partisan politics.

But the Wordsmith-in-Chief didn’t make the promise of repeal in 2010, no matter how much we wish he had.

3 thoughts on “President Obama Did *NOT* Promise DADT Repeal This Year

  1. Good point. But look out for the bomb throwers calling you names. I love my gay community but we have a million ways to voice how angry we are and two million more ways to justify why we do nothing but TALK about how angry we are.

Comments are closed.