Pat Robertson: Homosexuals Just Want to “Destroy Marriage”

Oh Pat. You miss the point, then you get the point, then you miss it again. All in one minute. (From tonight’s broadcast of The 700 Club, via MediaMatters.)

Pat, recognizing the right of all people to marry (as discussed in Loving v. Virginia) will not cause any harm to any straight person’s marriage, and the values of hatred and bigotry are not authentic products of a Jewish or Christian culture.

You’re absolutely right that we don’t want any “hindrance” to our particular lifestyle (assuming by that you mean s-e-x) or our “particular way of having sex”. That was exactly the point when Lawrence v. Texas made gay sex legal just six years ago, and it’s exactly the point of the 14th Amendment to the Constitution.

By the way, plenty of people in the straight community share our particular way of having sex. Seriously. Check it out. (As if you haven’t already…)

Generally speaking, Pat, civil rights are not decided by majority vote. If they were, interracial marriage would have been illegal until 1991, according to Gallup.

Kristi, I would simply point out that your taking offense doesn’t make bigotry–and that’s what it is, bigotry–legal or right. Honestly, I’m not sure where you get off passing judgment, what with you being a fresh divorcée and all.

[Transcript for posterity and search engines]

PAT ROBERTSON: I don’t really believe homosexuals want to get married; what they want to do is destroy marriage and some of the other things that we have in our society. There’s been an outright campaign against the traditional moral values that have grown up in a Judeo-Christian culture! And they don’t want any–any–hindrance to their particular lifestyle or their particular way of having sex.

That’s what it amounts to, but whether or not this is going to be something that will, you know, change the country, the country has voted overwhelmingly in favor of traditional marriage. They don’t want homosexual marriage. But you find a few states–Maine, Massachusetts, Iowa–who have voted them in through the legislature. Yet when the people have their say, the people say “no way!” Kristie?

KRISTI WATTS: I tell you what, Pat. And it’s important for us to pray, yes, but we also have to work. We have to raise up our voices too. I’m really getting tired of all these different stories, and everyone’s offended at this and offended at that. I tell you what, Christians need to stand up and say, “Listen, I’m offended too!” Don’t get me started!

5 thoughts on “Pat Robertson: Homosexuals Just Want to “Destroy Marriage”

  1. So what is it that Christians are “offended” by, here? People different from them being treated as equals?Screw 'em. Anyone who's offended by the idea of their fellow human beings being treated equally under the law, deserves to be offended.

  2. Destroy marriage? well, I must confess, I just haven't had the time lately. I mean, my husband and I did have that wedding last year, and we're legal, at least in MA, but that doesn't seem to be enough to wreck the married lives of the heterosexuals living in our neighborhood. Oh, we've tried. I baked cookies for the elderly couple next door, washed their awnings. I even touched up the paint job on their house and hung one of those tin stars for them. They are STILL together. I've been pretty busy this week with work and continuing education. When I got home last night, my husband was working in the yard, so I went out and kissed him right there for our neighbors to see. I looked around, but none of the married couples in our direct sight had experienced a spontaneous combustion. I'll try harder this weekend, after my hubby is done with his 12 hour shift, and I'm done with all the extra learning I'm trying to accomplish this week.

  3. You should see Lewis Black's angry standup comedy on YouTube, his section about how gays are setting out to destroy American families. He explores the idea in a literal fashion, which only goes to show how much of an unrealistic premise it is. Well worth watching.

  4. Destroy marriage? well, I must confess, I just haven't had the time lately. I mean, my husband and I did have that wedding last year, and we're legal, at least in MA, but that doesn't seem to be enough to wreck the married lives of the heterosexuals living in our neighborhood. Oh, we've tried. I baked cookies for the elderly couple next door, washed their awnings. I even touched up the paint job on their house and hung one of those tin stars for them. They are STILL together. I've been pretty busy this week with work and continuing education. When I got home last night, my husband was working in the yard, so I went out and kissed him right there for our neighbors to see. I looked around, but none of the married couples in our direct sight had experienced a spontaneous combustion. I'll try harder this weekend, after my hubby is done with his 12 hour shift, and I'm done with all the extra learning I'm trying to accomplish this week.

  5. You should see Lewis Black's angry standup comedy on YouTube, his section about how gays are setting out to destroy American families. He explores the idea in a literal fashion, which only goes to show how much of an unrealistic premise it is. Well worth watching.

Comments are closed.