Lt. Dan Choi’s Discharge Board Hearing One Week Away

The date has been set for 1Lt. Dan Choi‘s discharge board. According to Knights Out, an LGBT West Point organization that Lt. Choi helped found, his case will be heard on June 30, 2009 to consider his discharge from active service.

Because he is openly challenging his discharge, Lt. Choi‘s discharge will likely be classified as either general under honorable conditions or dishonorable. In the 16 years history of DADT, no servicemember who has appeared before her/his discharge board has received an honorable discharge.

"Don't lie. Don't hide. Don't discriminate. Don't weaken the military."
"Don't lie. Don't hide. Don't discriminate. Don't weaken the military."

Since President Obama and the 111th Congress took office, 264 members of the US Armed Forces, about five every three days, have been fired by the government because they are gay.

8 thoughts on “Lt. Dan Choi’s Discharge Board Hearing One Week Away

  1. Man, I have so much respect for Dan Choi. He has so much courage. I'm hoping President Obama does the right thing before June 30 and issues a moratorium on DADT discharges.Dan Choi has the potential to become a national LGBT leader. I hope he sees that, because I sure am not alone in this thought. He's a great speaker, quick thinker, and is very personable. He's just what this civil rights movement needs.P.S. Your comment rule #4 is cool.

  2. I agree with you on Lt. Choi. He's begun to emerge as someone with the right charisma/intelligence/forcefulness mix. Plus, he's non-white, which is only a good thing at this point. The organized movement is far too white and male.As for President Obama doing the right thing, I hope he does but I'm not betting on it, at least not by the end of the month. And that breaks my heart for Lt. Choi.

  3. Man, I have so much respect for Dan Choi. He has so much courage. I'm hoping President Obama does the right thing before June 30 and issues a moratorium on DADT discharges.Dan Choi has the potential to become a national LGBT leader. I hope he sees that, because I sure am not alone in this thought. He's a great speaker, quick thinker, and is very personable. He's just what this civil rights movement needs.P.S. Your comment rule #4 is cool.

  4. I agree with you on Lt. Choi. He's begun to emerge as someone with the right charisma/intelligence/forcefulness mix. He's much more at home in front of a crowd than he was just a few months ago when the story broke. Plus, he's non-white, which is only a good thing at this point. The organized movement is far too white and male.As for President Obama doing the right thing, I hope he does but I'm not betting on it, at least not by the end of the month. And that breaks my heart for Lt. Choi.

  5. Man, I have so much respect for Dan Choi. He has so much courage. I'm hoping President Obama does the right thing before June 30 and issues a moratorium on DADT discharges.Dan Choi has the potential to become a national LGBT leader. I hope he sees that, because I sure am not alone in this thought. He's a great speaker, quick thinker, and is very personable. He's just what this civil rights movement needs.P.S. Your comment rule #4 is cool.

  6. I agree with you on Lt. Choi. He's begun to emerge as someone with the right charisma/intelligence/forcefulness mix. He's much more at home in front of a crowd than he was just a few months ago when the story broke. Plus, he's non-white, which is only a good thing at this point. The organized movement is far too white and male.As for President Obama doing the right thing, I hope he does but I'm not betting on it, at least not by the end of the month. And that breaks my heart for Lt. Choi.

  7. Man, I have so much respect for Dan Choi. He has so much courage. I'm hoping President Obama does the right thing before June 30 and issues a moratorium on DADT discharges.Dan Choi has the potential to become a national LGBT leader. I hope he sees that, because I sure am not alone in this thought. He's a great speaker, quick thinker, and is very personable. He's just what this civil rights movement needs.P.S. Your comment rule #4 is cool.

  8. I agree with you on Lt. Choi. He's begun to emerge as someone with the right charisma/intelligence/forcefulness mix. He's much more at home in front of a crowd than he was just a few months ago when the story broke. Plus, he's non-white, which is only a good thing at this point. The organized movement is far too white and male.As for President Obama doing the right thing, I hope he does but I'm not betting on it, at least not by the end of the month. And that breaks my heart for Lt. Choi.

Comments are closed.