The Case for Methodist Amendment One: Rev. Eric Folkerth

Another minister has taken on UMC Amendment One, this time Rev. Eric Folkerth of Northaven UMC of Dallas, Texas (North Texas Annual Conference).

Rev. Folkerth gave this sermon on February 8, 2009. Give special attention beginning around 9:00 for background on the amendment and why it’s necessary. The scripture used is from Paul’s first letter to the Church in Corinth.

1 Corinthians 9:19-23 (NASB) For though I am free from all men, I have made myself a slave to all, so that I may win more. To the Jews I became as a Jew, so that I might win Jews; to those who are under the Law, as under the Law though not being myself under the Law, so that I might win those who are under the Law; to those who are without law, as without law, though not being without the law of God but under the law of Christ, so that I might win those who are without law.

To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak; I have become all things to all men, so that I may by all means save some. I do all things for the sake of the gospel, so that I may become a fellow partaker of it.

By the way, Rev. Folkerth‘s wife is a Texas District Judge. (You’ll figure out why you need to know that when you get there.)

[wpaudio url=”http://blog.mattalgren.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/eric-folkerth-all-means-all.mp3″ text=”Rev. Eric Folkerth: All Means All”]

This amendment was approved by a clear 2/3 majority of the General Conference. If you are a pastor or other representative at an Annual Conference, I encourage you to allow the United Methodist Church to welcome all people, not just some. Vote for Amendment One.

