The Christian Church’s Unnecessary War

I found another horrible copycat website today, the kind that some Christians think make them look hip and with it but just come across forced and embarrassing. Godwitter.com (I swear I’m not making this up) is a watered-down Christians-only version of Twitter, right down to a copycat name, logo, and color scheme.

And I can’t stand that, but that’s not my point today.

I looked at the top, most recent post. It was from Greg Gordon, the founder of the copycat site, through his other site, sermonindex.net. Here’s what it said:

“Sit Back, Relax & Enjoy Divine Judgment: http://tinyurl.com/oor8m7 ”
Posted by sermonindexnet | 3 hours ago

The tinyurl leads to a sermon page that in turn refers you to this youtube video. To reiterate: In the site’s first few days of existence, Gordon thought it was important that they see this video.

So there I sat, watching John MacArthur go on about how destructive homosexuality is, and how evil it is (and therefore I am), and how it is (and therefore I am) to blame for God supposedly turning his back on America. How we’re the aggressors dooming him and them to “divine judgment”. How we’re at “war” and they’d better take up arms against me.

How they’re superior to anyone who disagrees with them.

This is why I cringe whenever I tell someone I’m a Christian. I quickly add that we aren’t all like that, and that some of us are actually kind, reasonable, compassionate people who actually try to live the way that Jesus modeled by principles that are found throughout the scriptures.

But frankly, I have to wonder why anyone would believe me. Why would someone believe that author John MacArthur isn’t representative of Christians the world over? How do we convince them, both the MacArthurs and their audience, that their war is hurting the Church?

I don’t have the answers; I wish I did. All I know is that the longer we spend fighting John MacArthur’s unnecessary war, the less time we have to do the work that we’re actually here for. And that’s the most frustrating part of it all.

