Street Preachers Visit Hawaii; Still Hate The Gays

Keori over at Pam’s House Blend reported on a group of evangelist street preachers coming to the University of Hawaii’s Manoa campus through this week to stand around and yell at people. I guess they needed a vacation.

Hawaii’s Star Bulletin identified the group as Bema Ministries, apparently based in the Tampa, Florida area. Oddly, the leader of the group only identifies himself as JK on the group’s site, but another page that links to groups like his identifies him as John Kranert. Based on the only clear picture I could find of him (There are remarkably few pictures of street preachers’ faces. Mostly it’s their backs.), he is TOTALLY NOT GAY YOU GUYS!

Seriously, you guys. He's NOT!
Seriously, you guys. He's NOT!

Anyway, the Honolulu Weekly published a great account of last Wednesday’s event in their ongoing “Floating City” feature. Go over there for the full account, but I thought this was so great that I couldn’t help but excerpt a bit of it.

Now there is a sizable crowd, I’m estimating 100 people, and it’s pretty clear that the crowd is not supporting Yelling Guy. A handful of security guards are monitoring the situation.

Yelling Guy yells something like: “Are there any good Christians here? Isn’t there anyone who will stand with me?”

Two girls emerge from the crowd. I’m thinking, “Well shit, there are people who agree with this guy.” They hold hands like good little Christian girls ready to stand behind their preacher. Then the girls grab each other and make out, right in front of him, and the crowd goes wild. I didn’t get a picture because I was so shocked and too busy cheering like everybody else. Seriously. Crowd goes WILD. I’ve never felt such solidarity in a crowd before. Eventually, security steps in, and the crowd goes wild, chanting “GO HOME! GO HOME! GO HOME!” as Yelling Guy resists security’s attempts to lead him away. Then he walks out with security and the crowd disperses.

I’m telling this story because I felt like the good guys won, and it was comforting. I’m disappointed in the good guys for getting angry and stooping to the level of confrontation, but I still feel like we’re the good guys nonetheless.

No doubt about it. You were the good guys that day.

4 thoughts on “Street Preachers Visit Hawaii; Still Hate The Gays

  1. ahh, that kiss. that’s the kind of thing my husband and I threaten to do when people start staring at us and whispering. someday, it’s going to happen.

  2. ahh, that kiss. that’s the kind of thing my husband and I threaten to do when people start staring at us and whispering. someday, it’s going to happen.

  3. A defeat for bigots, *and* girls kissing! Sounds like everyone was a winner that day!

    Well, except the bigots. But hey, you can’t please everybody.

  4. A defeat for bigots, *and* girls kissing! Sounds like everyone was a winner that day!

    Well, except the bigots. But hey, you can’t please everybody.

Comments are closed.