Rick Warren Makes Baby Jesus Cry

You know, I don’t like being angry. I don’t like spending time writing about gay rights issues. In a perfect world, this entire blog would be unnecessary. I’d much rather be finding screencaps for the Die Hard review I’m working on for my non-political blog.

That’s what I was doing a few minutes ago when word started making the rounds that Rick Warren has released a video to members of his church. In this video, Rick tells unadulterated lies about what he’s said about gay rights, specifically gay marriage in the last week. Check it out:

(I’m choosing to ignore the preliminary nonsense about “hurling bombs at people” and being anonymous and being rude. I’ve dealt with your kind before, Rick. Nonsense like that won’t get me to change the subject.)

At about 2:40, Rick says that he’s never equated “gay partnerships” with incest and pedophilia. He says, “I believe no such thing. I never have. You’ve never once heard me in thirty years talk that way about that.” But last week he said exactly that.

Just in case the video doesn’t work:

Rick Warren: But the issue to me is, I’m not opposed to that as much as I’m opposed to the redefinition of a 5,000-year definition of marriage. I’m opposed to having a brother and sister be together and call that marriage. I’m opposed to an older guy marrying a child and calling that a marriage. I’m opposed to one guy having multiple wives and calling that marriage.

Steven Waldman: Do you think, though, that they are equivalent to having gays getting married?

Rick Warren: Oh I do.

Seriously, Rick. Does the ninth commandment mean nothing to you?

He goes on to backpedal about the beliefnet interview, but the truth is that Warren’s words, spoken when he didn’t think anybody was paying attention, have given him away. This isn’t even the first time he’s said something like that, just the most recent. (Well, the most recent until Friday’s interview with Ann Curry.)

Rick also goes on to repeat (again) the lie that “the definition of marriage has been universally accepted since the beginning of man”. I hate stating the obvious, but it would appear that I need to. On June 12, 1967, in response to Loving vs. Virginia, the US Supreme Court unanimously ruled that:

Marriage is one of the ‘basic civil rights of man,’ fundamental to our very existence and survival…. To deny this fundamental freedom on so unsupportable a basis as the racial classifications embodied in these statutes, classifications so directly subversive of the principle of equality at the heart of the Fourteenth Amendment, is surely to deprive all the State’s citizens of liberty without due process of law. The Fourteenth Amendment requires that the freedom of choice to marry not be restricted by invidious racial discriminations. Under our Constitution, the freedom to marry, or not to marry, a person of another race resides with the individual and cannot be infringed by the State.

This ruling redefined marriage for the federal government and effectively nullified anti-miscegenation laws in 17 states. It’s worth noting that the state government of South Carolina was the last to remove anti-miscegenation language from its constitution. It did so in 2000. So it hasn’t even been ten years since a state redefined marriage, even if we ignore gay marriage rights currently recognized in Connecticut and Massachusetts.

I want to make it perfectly clear that this debate is not about the religious definition of marriage. That’s a separate issue. I disagree with Rick Warren in that debate as well, but here we’re talking specifically about the civil definition of marriage only. That’s what Warren was discussing in the beliefnet interview, and since the Bill of Rights ensures the freedom of religion, religion is not a reasonable argument for denying what the US Supreme Court has identified as one of the ‘basic civil rights of man.’

There’s more, including a second video in which Warren calls people who’ve been speaking out about him hateful and evil (yes seriously). Honestly, I couldn’t get through it without retching so I’ll let others, like Good As You’s Jeremy Hooper, respond to that one. The video is below.

Finally, I return to the title of the post and the fact that the first video was filmed right after Rick Warren got done with a Christmas service. To quote Todd Flanders, “Lies make Baby Jesus cry.”

Why are you making Baby Jesus cry, Rick? Why?

(28 days, Mr. Obama.)

One thought on “Rick Warren Makes Baby Jesus Cry

Comments are closed.